Skip to content

November 6, 2009

3

BarcampSeoul4 – Anticipation

by fambrojoe

A month or two ago I was alerted to BarcampSeoul4 by Brian Lockwood (@Brianlockwood).  Although familiar with the BarCamp concept, I’ve never participated in one.  Tomorrow that will change.  I am looking forward to participating in my very first barcamp tomorrow  in Seoul.  It is being sponsored by Daum Communications and hosted in their building in Hannam-dong.

Daum Communications Building, Seoul - Event location of BarcampSeoul4

A barcamp is an “un-conference conference” that is mostly organized on the day of the event.  All participants are expected to present.  All presentations are listed at the beginning of the day and participants vote on which presentations they would like to attend.  The agenda for the day is created on the spot.  Each presentation is generally 20 minutes, including questions.

While I haven’t had much time to put together a presentation, I am considering a discussion entitled, “Death to the Libraries”.  Questions surround concepts of future libraries, digitization of literature worldwide, and how e-readers will change the landscape of libraries.

The BarcampSeoul4 website is here.

I expect to report some very interesting things that I will learn from this experience.  Stay tuned.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Darren
    Nov 12 2009

    Okay, so I’m wondering what you thought and take aways from the event were for you…

    Reply
    • Nov 14 2009

      Thanks for asking! This was my first Barcamp… and I really enjoyed it. I have a post in the works that outlines my experience and some “take-aways”. Overall, it was a very positive experience.

      Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Things I learned at my first Barcamp « Thinking with Ahead

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

